Shooting Stars Award 22

F. l. t. r., last row: Clare Dunne (Ireland), Emilio Sakraya (Germany), Claudia Roth (German Federal Government Commissioner of Culture and the Media), Timon Sturbej (Slovenia), Souheila Yacoub (Switzerland) 2nd row: Gracija Filipović (Croatia), Anamaria Vartolomei (France), Hanna van Vliet (The Netherlands) 1st row Evin Ahmad (Sweden), João Nunes Monteiro (Portugal), Marie Reuther (Denmark)

natalia de molina welcomes this year’s sparkling european talents

Award Ceremony for the 2022 ten European Shooting Stars at the Berlinale Palast

Tonight the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS 2022 were welcomed to the Berlinale Palast stage by former Spanish Shooting Star Natalia De Molina – starring in tonight's competition entry Un año, una noche by Isaki Lacuesta – and presented with the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS Award.

The ten selected European Shooting Stars for 2022 are: Gracija Filipović (Croatia), Marie Reuther (Denmark), Anamaria Vartolomei (France), Emilio Sakraya (Germany), Clare Dunne (Ireland), Hanna van Vliet (The Netherlands), João Nunes Monteiro (Portugal), Timon Sturbej (Slovenia), Evin Ahmad (Sweden) and Souheila Yacoub (Switzerland).

After a busy few days of networking events with casting directors and introduction to the international press, tonight's red carpet affair and award ceremony is the thrilling highlight for these talented young actresses and actors.

EFP (EUROPEAN FILM PROMOTION) and its supporters are delighted to bring the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS programme to the Berlin International Film Festival for it's 25th edition. Tonight's ceremony was held in the presence of Festival Directors Mariette Rissenbek and Carlo Chatrian as well as Claudia Roth, German Federal Government Commissioner of Culture and the Media.

Throughout its 25 years, EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS has been an important stepping-stone for an actor's international career - notable Shooting Stars of recent years include: Matilda de Angelis (Atlas, The Undoing), Carey Mulligan (The Dig, Promising Young Woman,The Great Gatsby), Alba Rohrwacher (Happy as Lazzaro), Oscar-winner Alicia Vikander (Beckett, Tomb Raider), Riz Ahmed (Encounter, Sound of Metal, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Mogul Mowgli), George MacKay (Munich – The Edge of War, 1917), and Jannis Niewöhner (Kids Run, Je suis Karl).

EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS is made possible thanks to the support of Creative Europe – the MEDIA Programme of the European Union, the German Federal Commissioner for Culture and Media, Film- und Medienstiftung NRW, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg and Spotlight, as well as the participating national film promotion institutes from the Shooting Stars' countries, EFP's member organisations – with a special thanks to German Films: Croatian Audiovisual Centre, Danish Film Institute, German Films, Instituto do Cinema e do Audiovisual I.P. / ICA (Portugal), Screen Ireland / Fís Éireann, SEE NL (The Netherlands), Slovenian Film Centre, Swedish Film Institute, SWISS FILMS and UniFrance. Main media partner is Variety, with additional media partners: Screen International, Cineuropa, Blickpunkt:Film, HeyUGuys, Festival Scope and ekran.

get in touch