Design ohne Titel63

f.l.t.r.: Éanna Hardwicke (Ireland), Džiugas Grinys (Lithuania), Asta Kamma August (Sweden), Margarita Stoykova (Bulgaria), Kamila Urzędowska (Poland), Katharina Stark (Germany), Salome Demuria (Georgia), Suzy Bemba (France), Valentina Bellè (Italy) and Thibaud Dooms (Belgium); Photo: Harald Fuhr

european shooting stars 2024: here's to a great start at the berlinale

The EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS 2024 – selected among outstanding up-and-coming talent from across Europe – have arrived in Berlin today to start their tailor-made programme of profile-raising events, including industry panels and meetings with casting directors, the international press, the jury and producers.

Presented during the Berlin International Film Festival, the 27th edition of EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS culminates with the Awards Ceremony on Monday 19 February, providing the actresses and actors with their red-carpet Berlinale moment.

The ten selected European Shooting Stars for 2024 are: Thibaud Dooms (Belgium), Margarita Stoykova (Bulgaria), Suzy Bemba (France), Salome Demuria (Georgia), Katharina Stark (Germany), Éanna Hardwicke (Ireland), Valentina Bellè (Italy), Džiugas Grinys (Lithuania), Kamila Urzędowska (Poland) and Asta Kamma August (Sweden).

Throughout its 27 years, EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS has been an important stepping-stone for the selected talent’s international careers – notable Shooting Stars over the years include: Matilda de Angelis (Across the River and Into the Trees, Atlas, The Undoing), Bill Skarsgård (Boy Kills World, It, It Chapter 2), Carey Mulligan (Maestro, She Said, The Dig, Promising Young Woman, The Great Gatsby), Alba Rohrwacher (La chimera, Happy as Lazzaro), Oscar-winner Alicia Vikander (Firebrand, Beckett, Tomb Raider), Maisie Williams (Game of Thrones), Riz Ahmed (Fingernails, Encounter, Sound of Metal, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Mogul Mowgli), George MacKay (The Beast, Munich – The Edge of War, 1917), Daniel Brühl (All Quiet on the Western Front), Louis Hofmann (The Forger) and Leonie Benesch (The Teachers‘ Lounge).

EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS is made possible thanks to the support of Creative Europe – the MEDIA Programme of the European Union, the German Federal Commissioner for Culture and Media, the Berlin International Film Festival, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg and Spotlight, as well as the national film promotion institutes and film centres from the Shooting Stars’ home countries (EFP’s member organisations): With special thanks to German Films, Bulgarian National Film Center, Cinecittà (Italy), Flanders Image, Georgian National Film Center, Lithuanian Film Centre, Polish Film Institute, Unifrance, Screen Ireland / Fís Éireann and Swedish Film Institute. The programme’s industry partner is the International Casting Directors Association (ICDA). EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS’ main media partner is Variety, with additional media partners: Screen International, Cineuropa, Blickpunkt:Film, HeyUGuys and Festival Scope.

get in touch