POM 2019

EFP Announces PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE 2019 at the Cannes Film Festival

Celebrating the 20th Edition of PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE

For 20 years, the most enterprising, up-and-coming producers from throughout Europe have been selected for EFP PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE at the Cannes Film Festival. Based on their already acclaimed work and first international co-productions, EFP (European Film Promotion), the unique network of 38 European film promotion institutions, has been picking 20 producers each year for its high-profile networking platform as well as promoting them to the international film industry. The programme is made possible thanks to the unwavering financial support of the Creative Europe - MEDIA Programme of the European Union and the EFP member organisations.

EFP congratulates three former PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE, who will have their films premiering in the Competition: Janine Jackowski (Germany 2009) and Dan Wechsler (Switzerland 2011) co-produced The Whistler by Corneliu Porumboiu. The family drama Frankie by Ira Sachs was co-produced by Diana Elbaum (Belgium 2001) and Luis Urbano (Portugal 2007). Screening 'Out of Competition' is La Belle Époque by Nicolas Bedos. The film was executive produced by Francois Kraus (France 2004), while Donato Rotunno (Luxembourg 2001) was the co-producer of O Que Arde by Oliver Laxe, which is premiering in the Un Certain Regard section of the festival as well as Les Hirondelles de Kabul by Yasmina Khadra, co-produced by Joëlle Bertossa (Switzerland 2013).

Roberto Olla, Executive Director of Eurimages Fund and long-term partner of EFP's initiative: "We have been working with European Film Promotion as part of their initiatives in Cannes and Toronto for several years now. We both share the same ambition for increased co-operation amongst film professionals in Europe and beyond. Although we walk different paths, our collaboration has come about as a means of achieving this. Happy Birthday and long live EFP!".

In two decades, 400 producers have taken part in the tailor-made event in order to foster international co-productions, intensify the exchange of experiences, and create new professional networks. Many of them have become long-standing production partners like Labina Mitevska (North Macedonia) and Zdenka Gold (Croatia), who met at EFP PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE in 2013, returned to the Cannes Film Festival with Sieranevada along with fellow participant Anca Puiu in 2016, and celebrated the premiere of God Exists, Her Name is Petrunya at this year's Berlin International Film Festival.

The EFP members supporting this year's edition of EFP PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE are: British Council, Croatian Audiovisual Centre, Danish Film Institute, Eye International (The Netherlands), Film Center Serbia, Flanders Image (Belgium), German Films, Hungarian National Film Fund, Instituto de la Cinematografía y de las Artes Audiovisuales / ICAA (Spain), Instituto do Cinema e do Audiovisual I.P. / ICA (Portugal), Icelandic Film Centre, Istituto Luce Cinecittà (Italy), National Film Centre Latvia, Norwegian Film Institute, Polish Film Institute, Screen Ireland, Slovenian Film Centre, Swedish Film Institute, Swiss Films, and Unifrance.

Interviews with this year's PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE will be published on EFP's media partners' websites:, and in the Cannes edition of "World of Young Cinema".

get in touch

Producers on the Move 2019

Rok Biček


Nina Bisgaard

Dyveke Bjørkly Graver

Inese Boka-Grūbe

Grégoire Debailly

Dschoint Ventschr Filmproduktion

Sereina Gabathuler

Emily Morgan
United Kingdom

SF Studios (former AB Svensk Filmindustri)

Jon Nohrstedt

Lilja Ósk Snorradóttir

Małgorzata Staroń

Hendrik Verthé

Joram Willink
The Netherlands