JURY 2022: Bernard Michaux, Sara Serraiocco, Timka Grin, Levan Akin, Yun-hua Chen

Five industry experts selected by European Film Promotion (EFP) are waiting in the wings to select Europe’s most promising up-and-coming acting talents for the 25th edition of EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS (11-14 February, 2022) at the Berlin International Film Festival.

The jury consists of the Swedish filmmaker of Georgian descent Levan Akin, known for such films as The Circle and Certain People as well as being director of the critically acclaimed And Then We Danced which was Sweden’s 2019 Oscar entry; the casting director Timka Grin from Bosnia and Herzegovina, who cast such films as As If I Am Not There by Juanita Wilson, Death in Sarajevo by Danis Tanovic, which won the Jury Grand Prix and the FIPRESCI Prize at the 66th Berlinale, and most recently Murina by this year’s Camera D’Or winner Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović; the former European Shooting Star Sara Serraiocco from Italy, known for her roles as Baldwin in the US series Counterpart alongside J.K. Simmons, as Nora in No Country for Young Men by Giovanni Veronesi, and as Guila in Marco Danieli's Wordly Girl -  the role which garnered her the "Premio Pasinetti" of the National Guild of Film Critics as Best Actress, among others. The jury also includes Luxembourgish film producer Bernard Michaux who has produced, inter alia, Collective by Alexander Nanau, which was nominated in the Best Documentary Feature and Best International Feature Film categories at the 93th Academy Awards, The Restless by Joachim Lafosse as well as the animated film Where Is Anne Frank by Ari Folman, which is currently nominated for the European Film Awards 2021 (European Animated Feature Film). The jury is rounded off by the German-based film scholar and curator Yun-hua Chen whose articles and film reviews in the English, Chinese and German language can be found in the Directory of World Cinema, Journal of Chinese Cinemas, Film International, Cinephilia and several edited volumes.

Please click here for the full length biographies

With their combined expertise the jury will select the ten most talented and internationally versatile actresses and actors from the 23 candidates who have been nominated by their national film promotion institutes, EFP’s member organisations. In Berlin, the ten talents, to be announced in mid-January, will take part in a four-day programme of networking as well as industry and press events, culminating in the Award Ceremony.

EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS, which is supported financially by the Creative Europe MEDIA Programme of the European Union and the participating national film promotion institutes (EFP’s member organisations) is the oldest and most efficient pan-European initiative casting a spotlight on the most talented actresses and actors. Each year, on average, an impressive eight out of ten Shooting Stars will take part in international casting sessions following the programme.


Magdalena Gorgieva
Project Director

 Helen Peetzen
Press and Communication



european films out in force at biff 2023

28.09.2023 - This year’s line-up of the Busan International Film Festival (BIFF, 4 – 13 October, 2023) includes 70 European films to be presented to an …

first stop canada – film sales support for 14 new films from europe at tiff

05.09.2023 - 11 European world premieres, two North American premieres and one International premiere are receiving a promotional boost at this year’s Toronto …

°efp casts a spotlight on european cinema at tiff 2023

29.08.2023 - European Film Promotion (EFP) is delighted to be able to put a spotlight on 18 European titles among a long list of outstanding European films that …

press archive

Look here for all news including previous years.

>> Go to archive

°efp is supported by

European Film Promotion e.V.
Friedensallee 14-16
22765 Hamburg / Germany

fon +49 40- 398 403-0
fax +49 40- 390 6249


°efp President
Markéta Santrochová
Czech Film Center

°efp Managing Director 
Sonja Heinen

Panatom Corporate Communication

Andrea Dittler