A total of 26 European films are competing for the Arab Critics' Award for European Films, which is being jointly announced by Euopean Film Promotion (EFP) and the Arab Cinema Center (ACC) for the third time.

This year, 71 of the most prominent and influential Arab film critics from 15 Arab-speaking countries - 13 more than last year - will first decide on their top three favourites from nominations submitted by the European national film institutions – EFP’s member organisations - before announcing the winning film during the Cairo International Film Festival (CIFF) at the end of November.

The nominated films in alphabetical order:

107 Mothers by Peter Kerekes, Slovak Republic; After The Winter by Ivan Bakrač, Montenegro; Ali and Ava by Clio Barnard, UK; As Far As I Can Walk by Stefan Arsenijevic, Serbia; Blue Moon by Alina Grigore, Romania; The Gravedigger´s Wife by Khadar Ayderus Ahmed, Finland; Hinterland by Stefan Ruzowitzky, Austria; Hive by Blerta Basholli, Kosovo; I’m Your Man by Maria Schrader, Germany; Inventory by Darko Sinko, Slovenia; Lamb by Valdimar Jóhannsson; Iceland; The Last Ones by  Veiko Õunpuu, Estonia; Libertad by Clara Roquet, Spain; Moon 66 Questions by Jacqueline Lentzou, Greece; The Most Beautiful Boy In The World by Kristina Lindström and Kristian Petri, Sweden; My Sunny Maad by Michaela Pavlatova, Czech Republic; Natural Light by Dénes Nagy, Hungary; Neighbours by Mano Khalil, Switzerland; Patchwork by Petros Charalambous, Cyprus; The Pilgrims by Laurynas Bareiša, Lithuania; Sisterhood by Dina Duma, North Macedonia; The Staffroom by Sonja Tarokic, Croatia; This Town by Mariusz Wilczyński, Poland; Three Minutes - A Lengthening  by Bianca Stigter, The Netherlands; The White Fortress by Drljača Igor Bosnia and Herzegovina; The Year Before The War by Dāvis Sīmanis, Latvia

The Arab film critics in alphabetical order:

Abdelkarim Ouakrim (Morocco), Abdelkrim Kadri (Algeria), Abdul Sattar Naji (Kuwait), Ahmed Abo El Fadl (Egypt), Ahmed Sami (Egypt), Aliaa Talaat (Egypt), Ali Wajeeh (Syria), Amal El-Gamal (Egypt), Amged Gamal (Egypt), Andrew Mohsen (Egypt), Azz El Deen El Ouafi  (Morocco), Chaf Tabbara (Lebanon), Dalia Said Mostafa (Egypt), Doha Elwardaney (Egypt), Erfan Rashid (Iraq),Essam Zakaria (Egypt), Fahad Alestsa (Saudi Arabia), Hammadi Gueroum (Morocco), Hassan Haddad (Bahrain), Hassouna Mansouri  (Tunisia), Hauvick Habéchian (Lebanon), Hind Mezaina (UAE), Houda Ibrahim (Lebanon), Huda Jafar (Yemen), Husam Asi (Palestine), Ibrahim Haj Abdi (Syria), Ikbal Zalila (Tunisia), Kadhum El Saloum (Iraq), Kais Kassem (Iraq), Khaled Mahmoud (Egypt), Khalid Ali (Sudan), Khalil Demmoun (Morocco), Lama Tayara (Syria), Lamia Guiga (Tunisia), Magda Khirallah (Egypt), Mahdi Abbas (Iraq), Marwa Abueish (Egypt), Mohamed Allal (Algeria), Mohamed Atef (Egypt), Mohamed Awad (Egypt), Mohamed Sayed Abdelrehim (Egypt), Mohamed Tarek (Egypt), Mohamed Benaziz (Morocco), Mohammed Chouika (Morocco), Mohammed Rouda (Lebanon), Nabil Hadji (Algeria), Nada Azhari (Syria), Nadim Jarjoura (Lebanon), Nageh Hassan (Jordan), Narjes Torchani (Tunisia), Nidal Queshha (Syria), Ola Kamel Al-Sheikh (Palestine, Head of Jury), Ola Shafey (Egypt), Omnia Adel (Egypt), Ossama Abdel Fattah (Egypt), Rachid Naim (Morocco), Rahma El Haddad (Egypt), Rasha Hosny (Egypt), Ramy Abd el Razek (Egypt), Safaa Elaisy (Egypt), Safaa Jibara Al-Saleh (Iraq), Samira Dami (Tunisia), Samya Ayish (Palestine), Selim ElBak (Palestine), Shaimaa Selim (Egypt), Sherif Thabet (Egypt), Taher Alwan (Iraq), Tarek Ben Chaabane (Tunisia), Tarek El Shinnawi (Egypt), Yousra Chikhawi (Tunisia), Ziad Khuzai (Iraq).

The Arab Critics’ Awards for European Films was launched in 2019 by EFP and ACC. It is a spin-off from the ACC’s now well-established Critics' Awards to boost film diversity in the region and raise the interest of sales and industry for outstanding European films. This initiative also aims to cast light on the distinguished film critics from 15 Arab-speaking countries and their important role in opening up new perspectives and bridging cultural idiosyncrasies. In 2019, the film God Exists, Her Name Is Petrunya by Teona Strugar Mitevska won the first Arab Critics’ Award for European Films. In 2020, the award was given to the film Undine by Christian Petzold.

click here for more information


supported by

in partnership with

in cooperation with


Jo Mühlberger
Project Director

Helen Peetzen
Press and Communication



spotlight on up-and-coming european filmmakers

06.06.2023 - European Film Promotion (EFP) and Karlovy Vary International Film Festival are casting a spotlight on some of the most outstanding young directors …

totem films and pulsar content to receive fss backing for tribeca

01.06.2023 - Two world premieres from women directors, selected for the Tribeca Film Festival (7-18 June 2023) in the International Narrative Competition will be …

european film promotion elects new board of directors

23.05.2023 - The 37 national film institutes of European Film Promotion (EFP) elected a new Board of Directors at today’s General Assembly during the Festival …

press archive

Look here for all news including previous years.

>> Go to archive

°efp is supported by

European Film Promotion e.V.
Friedensallee 14-16
22765 Hamburg / Germany

fon +49 40- 398 403-0
fax +49 40- 390 6249


°efp President
Markéta Santrochová
Czech Film Center

°efp Managing Director 
Sonja Heinen

Panatom Corporate Communication

Andrea Dittler