Lucia en el limbo produced by Grégoire Debailly - Producer on the Move 2019 from France - premieres in the Critics' Week's Short Film Competition

EFP (European Film Promotion) is delighted to announce that 14 former EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS and 26 PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE alumni will celebrate the premiere of their films in Cannes. Two French actresses feature times at the festival: Hafsia Herzi, who starring in Mektoub, My Love: Intermezzo in Competition and presenting her feature film directing debut, You Deserve a Love, in the Critics' Week where she is also playing lead. Adèle Haenel is starring in Portrait of a Lady on Fire in Competition, in Heroes Don't Die in the Critics' Week and in the opening film of the Directors' Fortnight Deerskin. Please see the full list below.

"It is such a pleasure to witness how the careers of the outstanding alumni of our programmes EFP EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS and PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE – which is celebrating its 20th edition – have evolved over the years. Our member organisations recognised their potential and supported their careers by nominating them for our programmes. It is wonderful to be able to promote such outstanding talent on an international level," says EFP Managing Director Sonja Heinen.

Meet the PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE 2019 on Saturday, 18 May from 5.00 to 6.00 pm. For more information, please contact


The Whistler by Corneliu Porumboiu
Romania, France, Germany
co-produced by Janine Jackowski (Germany 2009), Dan Wechsler (Switzerland 2011)

Frankie by Ira Sachs
France, Portugal, Belgium, USA
co-produced by Diana Elbaum (Belgium 2001), Luis Urbano (Portugal 2007)

Mektoub, My Love: Intermezzo by Abdellatif Kechiche
featuring Hafsia Herzi (European Shooting Star, France 2009)

A Hidden Life by Terrence Malick
Germany, United States
featuring European Shooting Stars August Diehl (Germany 2000), Matthias Schoenaerts (Belgium 2003), Alexander Fehling (Germany 2011), Franz Rogowski (Germany 2018), Joel Basman (Switzerland 2008)

Portrait of a Lady on Fire by Céline Sciamma
featuring Adèle Haenel (European Shooting Star, France 2012)


La Belle Époque by Nicolas Bedos
executive produced by Francois Kraus (France 2004)


Fire Will Come by Oliver Laxe
Spain, France, Luxembourg
co-produced by Donato Rotunno (Luxembourg 2001), Koldo Zuazua (Spain 2009)

The Swallows of Kabul by Yasmina Khadra
France, Switzerland, Luxembourg
co-produced by Joëlle Bertossa (Switzerland 2013)

Adam by Maryam Touzani
Morocco, France, Belgium, Qatar
featuring Lubna Azabal (European Shooting Star, Belgium 2004)
co-produced by Patrick Quinet (Belgium 2003)

The Bears' Famous Invasion of Sicily by Lorenzo Mattotti
France, Italy
Co-produced by Nicola Giuliano (Italy 2005)

Liberté by Albert Serra
Spain, France, Portugal
executive produced by Montse Triola (Spain 2015)


Opening Film
Deerskin by Quentin Dupieux
featuring Adèle Haenel (European Shooting Star France 2012)

Alice and the Mayor by Nicolas Pariser
featuring Anaïs Demoustier (European Shooting Star 2010)
produced by Emmanuel Agneray (France 2009)

Song Without a Name by Melina León
co-produced by Dan Wechsler (Switzerland 2011)

Dogs Don't Wear Pants by Jukka-Pekka Valkeapää
Finland, Latvia
produced by Aleksi Bardy (Finland 2006), co-produced by Aija Berzina (Latvia 2018) and Alise Gelze, (Latvia 2008), executive produced by Annika Sucksdorff (Finland 2010)

Oleg by Juris Kursietis
Latvia, Belgium, Lithuania, France
featuring Dawid Ogrodnik (European Shooting Star 2019)
produced by Aija Berzina (Latvia 2018) and Alise Gelze (Latvia 2008), co-produced by Lukas Trimonis (Lithuania 2018)

The Orphanage by Shahrbanoo Sadat
Denmark, Afghanistan, France, Luxembourg, Germany
produced by Katja Adomeit (Denmark 2015)

Particles by Blaise Harrison
Switzerland, France
associate produced by Yael Fogiel (France 2000)

Sick Sick Sick by Alice Furtado
Brazil, The Netherlands, France
co-produced by Frank Hoeve (The Netherlands 2018)

An Easy Girl by Rebecca Zlotowski
featuring Nuno Lopes (Portugal 2006), Clotilde Courau (France 1998)

Séance spéciale / Masterclass
The Staggering Girl by Luca Guadagnino
featuring Alba Rohrwacher (European Shooting Star 2009)

Short and medium-length film
That Which Is to Come Is Just a Promise by Flatform
Italy, The Netherlands, New Zealand
produced by Marco Alessi (Italy 2018)


Opening Film/Special Screening
Litigante by Franco Lolli
Colombia, France
produced by Sylvie Pialat et al (France 2007)

In Competition
A White, White Day by Hlynur Pálmason
Iceland, Denmark, Sweden
featuring European Shooting Stars Ingvar Sigurdsson (Iceland 1999) and Hilmir Snaer Gudnason (Iceland 2000)
produced by Anton Máni Svansson (Iceland 2017)

Vivarium by Lorcan Finnegan
Ireland, Belgium, Denmark
produced by John McDonnell (United Kingdom 2006)

Feature Films /Special Screenings
Heroes Don't Die by Aude Léa Rapin
France, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina
produced by Sylvie Pialat (France 2007), co-produced by Adis Djapo (Bosnia and Herzegovina 2016)
featuring Adèle Haenel (European Shooting Star, France 2012)

You Deserve a Love by Hafsia Herzi
featuring Hafsia Herzi (European Shooting Star, France 2009)

Short Film Competition
Lucía en el limbo by Valentina Maurel
Belgium, France, Costa Rica
produced by Grégoire Debailly (France 2019)


Doris Bandhold
Press and Communication


first stop canada – film sales support for 14 new films from europe at tiff

05.09.2023 - 11 European world premieres, two North American premieres and one International premiere are receiving a promotional boost at this year’s Toronto …

°efp casts a spotlight on european cinema at tiff 2023

29.08.2023 - European Film Promotion (EFP) is delighted to be able to put a spotlight on 18 European titles among a long list of outstanding European films that …

public call for fss at the tokyo iff and the afm 2023

10.08.2023 - EFP (European Film Promotion) is issuing a public call for Film Sales Support for the submission of classic and digital promotion campaigns of recent …

press archive

Look here for all news including previous years.

>> Go to archive


°efp is supported by

European Film Promotion e.V.
Friedensallee 14-16
22765 Hamburg / Germany

fon +49 40- 398 403-0
fax +49 40- 390 6249


°efp President
Markéta Santrochová
Czech Film Center

°efp Managing Director 
Sonja Heinen

Panatom Corporate Communication

Andrea Dittler