The Kindness of Strangers featuring Esben Smed, European Shooting Star in 2017 (photocredit: Per Arnesen)

EFP (European Film Promotion) and its member organisations are delighted to announce that a record number of 52 participants of our talent platforms EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS and PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE will be presenting 33 films at Berlin International Film Festival and wish everybody a wonderful festival experience. Esben Smed (Shooting Stars, Denmark 2016) stands out among the 20 former Shooting Stars by being part of not only the opening film in the Official Competition, The Kindness of Strangers, but also in the Berlinale series Follow the Money III. And German Shooting Star Franz Rogowski, who had two films in Competition last year, is back in the Berlinale Palast with I Was at Home, but by Angela Schanelec.

Among the 31 former PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE presenting their films stand out Janine Jackowski from Germany, who co-produced two films in the Official Competition: A Tale of Three Sisters by Emin Alper and Synonyms by Nadav Lapid and Marta Donzelli from Italy who produced Flesh Out and executive produced Dafne in the Panorama sidebar. Also doing double duty is Mikkel Jersin with Western Arabs, a Danish Dutch co-production and Divine Love in the Panorama section, which was also co-produced by Swiss alumni Dan Wechsler who returns to the festival with two more films he co-produced: Out of Competition The Operative, and as associate producer Monos (Panorama).

Please see the line-up of films featuring EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS and PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE in the various sections of the festival below:


Opening film
The Kindness of Strangers
by Lone Scherfig
Denmark, Canada, Sweden, Germany, France
featuring Andrea Riseborough, David Dencik, Esben Smed
produced by Ole Christian Madsen
executive produced by Tomas Gammeltoft
World premiere

The Ground beneath My Feet (Der Boden unter den Füßen)
by Marie Kreutzer
produced by Alexander Glehr
World premiere

I Was at Home, but (Ich war zuhause, aber)
by Angela Schanelec
Germany, Serbia
featuring Franz Rogowski
World premiere

Mr. Jones
by Agnieszka Holland
Poland, United Kingdom, Ukraine
produced by Klaudia Smieja
World premiere

Out Stealing Horses (Ut og stjaele hester)
By Hans Petter Moland
Norway, Sweden, Denmark
featuring Danica Curcic, Anders Baasmo Christiansen
produced by Turid Oversveen, co-produced by Lizette Jonjic
World premiere

A Tale of Three Sisters (Kız Kardeşler)
by Emin Alper
Turkey, Germany, The Netherlands, Greece
co-produced by Stienette Bosklopper, Janine Jackowski, Yorgos Tsourgiannis
World premiere

Elisa & Marcela (Elisa y Marcela)
by Isabel Coixet
featuring Natalia de Molina
World premiere

God exists, her name is Petrunya (Gospod postoi, imeto I' e Petrunija)
by Teona Strugar Mitevska
FYR of Macedonia, Belgium, Slovenia, Croatia, France
featuring Labina Mitevska
produced by Zdenka Gold, Labina Mitevska
World premiere

Synonyms (Synonymes)
by Nadav Lapid
France, Israel, Germany
co-produced by Janine Jackowski
World premiere

By the Grace of God (Grâce à Dieu)
by François Ozon
featuring Melvil Poupaud
International premiere


Farewell to the Night (L'adieu à la nuit)
by André Téchiné
France, Germany
featuring Kacey Mottet Klein
World premiere

The Operative (Die Agentin)
by Yuval Adler
Germany / Israel / France / USA 2019
co-produced by Dan Wechsler
World premiere


by Heinrich Breloer
Germany, Austria
Featuring in a minor role Maria Dragus
World premiere


A Dog Called Money
by Seamus Murphy – debut film
Ireland, United Kingdom
produced by Katie Holly
Panorama Dokumente
World premiere

Western Arabs
by Omar Shargawi
Denmark, The Netherlands
produced by Eva Jakobsen, Mikkel Jersin, co-produced by Frank Hoeve
Panorama Dokumente
nominated for the Glashütte Original – Documentary Award
World premiere

O Beautiful Night
by Xaver Böhm – debut film
featuring Marko Mandić
produced by Janine Jackowski
World premiere

Flesh Out
by Michela Occhipinti – debut film
produced by Marta Donzelli
World premiere

by Bas Devos
Belgium, The Netherlands
featuring Alba Rohrwacher, Lubna Azabal
produced by Tomas Leyers, co-produced by Petra Goedings
World premiere

The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea (To thávma tis thálassas ton Sargassón)
by Syllas Tzoumerkas
Greece, Germany, The Netherlands, Sweden
produced by Maria Drandaki, co-produced by Ellen Havenith, associate produced by Jeroen Beker
World premiere

Stitches (Savovi)
by Miroslav Terzic
Serbia, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina
co-produced by Adis Djapo, Zdenka Gold
World premiere

Brief Story from the Green Planet (Breve historia del planeta verde)
by Santiago Loza
Argentina, Germany, Brazil, Spain
produced by David Matamoros
World premiere

Staff Only
by Neus Ballus
Spain, france
executive produced by Edmon Roch
World premiere

by Federico Bondi
produced by Marta Donzelli
World premiere

Divine Love (Divino Amor)
by Gabriel Mascaro
Brazil, Uruguay, Chile, Denmark, Norway, Sweden
co-produced by Maria Ekerhovd, Eva Jakobsen, Mikkel Jersin, Dan Wechsler
European premiere

by Alejandro Landes
Colombia, Argentina, The Netherlands, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Uruguay
co-produced among many others by Leontine Petit
associate produced by Dan Wechsler
European premiere


Generation 14plus

by André Hörmann
Germany, USA
produced by Ingmar Trost
nominated for the Glashütte Original – Documentary Award
World premiere

Stupid Young Heart (Hölmö nuori sydän)
by Selma Vilhunen
Finland, The Netherlands, Sweden
featuring Pihla Viitala
European premiere

By the Name of Tanja
by Bénédicte Liénard, Mary Jiménez
Belgium, The Netherlands
Co-produced by Frank Hoeve
World premiere

Generation Kplus

by Erik Schmitt – debut film
produced by Fabian Gasmia (PLHH)
World premiere

The Kite
by Martin Smatana
Czech Republic / Slovak Republic / Poland
produced by Peter Badač
World premiere

Berlinale Series

M – A City Hunts a Murder (M – Eine Stadt sucht einen Mörder)
by David Schalko
Broadcaster: ORF, TV NOW
featuring Moritz Bleibtreu

Follow the Money III (Bedrag III)
by Soren Balle
Broadcaster: DR1
featuring Esben Smed, Maria Rich, Nicolai Lie Kaas, Sonja Richter, Lars Simonsen




europe! hub at sundance

17.01.2023 - After two online editions of the new EUROPE! HUB during the Sundance Film Festival, EFP is delighted to broaden its collaboration with one of the …

public call for fss at south by southwest (sxsw) 2023

23.12.2022 - EFP (European Film Promotion) is issuing a public call for FSS Classic for the submission of classic and digital promotion campaigns of recent …

public call for fss at the filmart 2023

20.12.2022 - Under the proviso that the market will take place physically in March 2023, EFP (European Film Promotion) is issuing a public call for FSS Classic …

here they are! the ten selected european shooting stars 2023

14.12.2022 - European Film Promotion (EFP) is delighted to announce the up-and-coming acting talent who have been selected for the next edition of EUROPEAN …

european film promotion welcomes former producers on the move in reykjavik

08.12.2022 - On 10 December, the film world will gather in Reykjavik to celebrate the European Film Awards. EFP is taking the opportunity to stage a reunion and …

press archive

Look here for all news including previous years.

>> Go to archive

°efp is supported by

European Film Promotion e.V.
Friedensallee 14-16
22765 Hamburg / Germany

fon +49 40- 398 403-0
fax +49 40- 390 6249


°efp President
Markéta Santrochová
Czech Film Center

°efp Managing Director 
Sonja Heinen

Panatom Corporate Communication

Andrea Dittler