European Shooting Star 2017: Tudor Aaron Istodor in the Romanian Oscar entry THE FIXER

The outstanding talent of European filmmakers, actresses and actors, who have been part of EFP's programmes EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS, PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE (PoM) and PRODUCERS LAB TORONTO (PLT) is reflected in the high number of EFP alumni involved in 22 of the 28 European Oscar entries participating in the EFP OSCAR SCREENINGS for the 90th Academy Awards. The screenings will take place from Nov 2 – 15 at the Dick Clark screening room in LA. In total 33 producers and 11 European Shooting Stars play an important role for the productions in front of and behind the camera.
The Estonian entry NOVEMBER is in fact realized by the All-PoM-team of Katrin Kissa (Estonia 2009) and co-producers Lukasz Dzieciol (Poland 2011) and Ellen Havenith (The Netherlands 2015). Most notably this year's participants of PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE have been especially busy in producing or co-producing the Oscar entries from Georgia, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland.
The line-up of EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS ranges from international stars like Matthias Schoenaerts in Belgium's RACER AND THE JAILBIRD and Nikolaj Lie Kaas in the Danish Oscar entry YOU DISAPPEAR to up-and-coming young actors like Tudor Aaron Istodor from Romania, Shooting Star in 2017, taking the lead in THE FIXER.
In addition to the support of the OSCAR SCREENINGS, EFP and its member organisations with financial backing by the Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union have dedicated more than €120,000 in FILM SALES SUPPORT for marketing and promotion costs of European films at the American Film Market (Nov 1 – 8) as well as providing the EUROPEAN UMBRELLA at AFM's headquarter, the Loews Hotel, as a central European meeting point with 16 participating European world sales and production companies.

Please see the full list of EFP Alumni:

Belgium, RACER AND THE JAILBIRD by Michaël R. Roskam
Featuring Matthias Schoenaerts (European Shooting Star Belgium 2003)

Bosnia and Herzegovina, MEN DON'T CRY by Alen Drljević
co-produced by Snežana Penev (PoM Serbia 2015)

Croatia, QUIT STARING AT MY PLATE by Hana Jušić
produced by Ankica Jurić Tilić (PoM Croatia 2009, PLT 2010)

Czech Republic, ICE MOTHER by Bohdan Sláma
featuring Tatiana Vilhelmová (European Shooting Star Czech Republic 2003)
produced by Pavel Strnad (PoM Czech Republic 2003)
co-produced by Marko Škop (PoM Slovak Republic 2008)

Denmark, YOU DISAPPEAR by Peter Schønau Fog
Featuring European Shooting Stars Nikolaj Lie Kaas (Denmark 2003) and Mikkel Boe Følsgaard (Denmark 2013)
produced by Louise Vesth (PoM Denmark 2008)
co-produced by David Matamoros (PoM Spain 2012)

Estonia, NOVEMBER by Rainer Sarnet
produced by Katrin Kissa (PoM Estonia 2009)
co-produced by Lukasz Dzieciol (PoM Poland 2011) and Ellen Havenith (PoM The Netherlands 2015)

Finland, TOM OF FINLAND by Dome Karukoski
featuring Jakob Oftebro (European Shooting Star Norway 2014)
produced by Aleksi Bardy (PoM Finland 2006) and Annika Sucksdorff (PoM Finland 2010), co-produced by Ingvar Thordarson (PoM 2006)

France, BPM (BEATS PER MINUTE) by Robin Campillo
featuring Adèle Haenel (European Shooting Star France 2012)

Georgia, SCARY MOTHER by Ana Urushadze
produced by Lasha Khalvashi (PoM Georgia 2017) and Tinatin Kajrishvili (PoM Georgia 2014), co-produced by Ivo Felt (PLT 2015)

Iceland, UNDER THE TREE by Hafsteinn Gunnar Sigurðsson
co-produced by Ditte Milsted (PoM Denmark 2017) and Klaudia Smieja (PoM Poland 2016)

Ireland, SONG OF GRANITE by Pat Collins
produced by Alan Maher (PoM Ireland 2017)
co-produced by Martin Paul-Hus (PLT 2010)

Latvia, THE CHRONICLES OF MELANIE by Viestur Kairish
produced by Gints Grūbe (PoM Latvia 2017)

Lithuania, FROST by Šarūnas Bartas
produced by Maria Blicharska (PoM Poland 2017)

Luxembourg, BARRAGE by Laura Schroeder
associate producer Diana Elbaum (PoM Belgium 2001)

Norway, THELMA by Joachim Trier
co-produced by Fredrik Heinig (PoM Sweden 2008), Eva Jakobsen (PoM Denmark 2014, PLT 2015) and Mikkel Jersin (PoM Denmark 2016)

Poland, SPOOR by Agnieszka Holland
featuring Jakub Gierszal (European Shooting Star Poland 2012)
co-produced by Bettina Brokemper (PoM Germany 2006), Tomáš Hrubý (PoM Czech Rebublic 2014), Pavla Janoušková Kubecková (PoM Czech Republic 2017), Helena Uldrichová (PoM Czech Republic 2005)

Portugal, SAINT GEORGE by Marco Martins
featuring European Shooting Stars Nuno Lopes (Portugal 2006) and Beatriz Batarda (Portugal 1998)

Romania, THE FIXER by Adrian Sitaru
featuring Tudor Aaron Istodor (European Shooting Star 2017)
produced by Anamaria Antoci (PoM Romania 2016)

Slovenia, THE MINER by Hanna Slak
featuring Jure Henigman (European Shooting Star Slovenia 2013)
produced by Siniša Juricic (PoM Croatia 2012, PLT 2013)

Spain, SUMMER 1993 by Carla Simón
co-produced by Maria Zamora (PoM Spain 2013)

Switzerland, THE DIVINE ORDER by Petra Biondina Volpe
produced by Lukas Hobi (PoM Switzerland 2004)



Doris Bandhold
Press and Communication


the jury for °efp’s 27th edition of european shooting stars is unveiled

22.11.2023 - European Film Promotion (EFP) is delighted to announce this year's jury: Five highly renowned experts are waiting in the wings to pick up …

public call for fss at the european film market 2024

20.11.2023 - EFP (European Film Promotion) is issuing a public call for Film Sales Support for the submission of digital promotion campaigns of recent European …

five years of arab critics’ awards for european films

07.11.2023 - The Arab Critics' Awards, initiated by European Film Promotion and the Arab Film Center, is now in its fifth round. 85 of the most prominent and …

public call for fss at sundance 2024

06.11.2023 - EFP (European Film Promotion) is issuing a public call for Film Sales Support for the submission of classic and digital promotion campaigns of recent …

flying high - european titles at the afm

26.10.2023 - Nine world sales companies are promoting and selling 20 new finished and unfinished films from Europe with the help of European Film Promotion’s …

press archive

Look here for all news including previous years.

>> Go to archive


°efp is supported by

European Film Promotion e.V.
Friedensallee 14-16
22765 Hamburg / Germany

fon +49 40- 398 403-0
fax +49 40- 390 6249


°efp President
Markéta Santrochová
Czech Film Center

°efp Managing Director 
Sonja Heinen

Panatom Corporate Communication

Andrea Dittler