© Getty Images for European Shootings Stars

From left to right: Dorka Gryllus (jury member), Elīna Vaska (Latvia), Esben Smed (Denmark), Victoria Guerra (Portugal), Manuela Schwesig (Federal Minister of Family Affairs), Dieter Kosslick (festival director), Monika Grütters (Federal Government Commissioner of Culture and Media), Hannah Hoekstra (The Netherlands), Maruša Majer (Slovenia), Alessandro Borghi (Italiy), Louis Hofmann (Germany), Zofia Wichłacz (Poland), Tudor Aaron Istodor (Romania) and Karin Franz Karlöf (Sweden).

Berlin, Monday 13th February 2017: Tonight the renowed British actor Timothy Spall welcomed to the Berlinale Palast stage this year's ten up and coming young actors from all over Europe - the European Shooting Stars 2017. The prestigious programme - celebrating its 20th anniversary - is financially supported by the Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union and participating EFP member organisations.

After a weekend of meeting and greeting industry professionals and interviews and introductions with the international entertainment media, tonight's red carpet arrival and awards ceremony was a thrilling end to a busy weekend for the young actors.

European Film Promotion (EFP) and its supporters were thrilled to once again bring the European Shooting Stars programme to the German capital, presented by the Berlin International Film Festival. Tonight's ceremony was held in the presence of Festival Director Dieter Kosslick and Monika Grütters, German Federal Government Commissioner of Culture and the Media and a number of Europe's cultural ministers.

Further photos from the European Shooting Stars events are available here.


The European Shooting Stars 2017 are supported by the following EFP member organisations: Danish Film Institute, German Films, Istituto Luce Cinecittà (Italy), National Film Centre of Latvia, EYE International (The Netherlands), Polish Film Institute, Instituto do Cinema e do Audiovisual I.P. / ICA (Portugal), Romanian Film Promotion, Slovenian Film Center, Swedish Film Institute.

EFP is financially supported by the Creative Europe - MEDIA Programme of the European Union and by its member organisations. The Hamburg-based office is backed by the German Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, the Film Fund Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein and the Ministry of Culture of the City of Hamburg.
EFP's programme EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS is moreover supported by partners such as the main sponsor TESIRO and the automobile partner Audi AG. Furthermore, we would like to thank the City of London, Film- and Medienstiftung NRW GmbH and the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH and give a special thanks to our member German Films.

main partner

automobile partner audi


Organic Publicity:
Email: ShootingStarsBerlin@organic-publicity.co.uk
Contact mobile: +44 7473 553 050 (Emily Lodderhose)

European Film Promotion (EFP):
Karin Dix (Project Director)
Tel: +49 40 390 6252

Doris Bandhold (Head of Press)
Tel: +49 179 652 15 76

°efp is supported by

European Film Promotion e.V.
Friedensallee 14-16
22765 Hamburg / Germany

fon +49 40- 398 403-0
fax +49 40- 390 6249


°efp President
Markéta Santrochová
Czech Film Center

°efp Managing Director 
Sonja Heinen

Panatom Corporate Communication

Andrea Dittler