Return to Montauk by Volker Schlöndorff featuring Nina Hoss (Shooting Star Germany 2000), co-produced by Conor Barry (PoM Ireland 2014) and John Keville (PoM Ireland 2014)

Celebrating European Film Promotion's 20th anniversary we are thrilled to announce an especially strong presence of participants of our talent platforms EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS and PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE at the 67th Berlin International Film Festival. On the whole 18 Shootings Stars and 23 producers are involved in a total of 31 films including eight films in the official Competition.

The Competition line-up perfectly reflects the cultural diversity and artistic excellence that European Film Promotion stands for. From the directorial debut WILD MOUSE by Austrian comedian and actor Josef Hader featuring former Shooting Stars Maria Hofstätter and Georg Friedrich – who also stars in BRIGHT NIGHTS by Thomas Arslan – to the Polish co-production SPOOR by Agnieszka Holland produced by Tomas Hrubý (Producer on the Move 2014) with former Shooting Star Jakub Gierzał (2012), where you can also catch a glimpse of this year's Polish Shooting Star Zofia Wichłacz.

Please see the complete line-up of films featuring EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS and PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE (PoM) in the various sections of the festival:

In Competition

Bright Nights (Helle Nächte) by Thomas Arslan
Germany / Norway 2017, World premiere featuring Georg Friedrich (Shooting Star Austria 2004) co-produced by Maria Ekerhovd (Producer on the Move 2011)

Joaquim by Marcelo Gomes
Brazil / Portugal 2017, World premiere featuring Nuno Lopes (Shooting Star Portugal 2006)

Return to Montauk by Volker Schlöndorff
Germany / France / Ireland 2017, World premiere featuring Nina Hoss (Shooting Star Germany 2000), co-produced by Conor Barry (PoM Ireland 2014) and John Keville (PoM Ireland 2014)

Wild Mouse (Wilde Maus) by Josef Hader
Austria 2017, World premiere – First Feature featuring Maria Hofstätter (Shooting Star Austria 2003) and Georg Friedrich (Shooting Star Austria 2004)

Colo by Teresa Villaverde
Portugal / France 2017, World premiere featuring Beatriz Batarda (Shooting Star Portugal 1998)

Spoor (Pokot) by Agnieszka Holland
Poland / Germany / Czech Republic / Sweden / Slovak Republic 2017, World premiere featuring Jakub Gierzał (Shooting Star Poland 2012) produced by Tomas Hrubý (CZ PoM 2014)

On Body and Soul (Testről és lélekről) by Ildikó Enyedi
Hungary 2017, World premiere produced by András Muhi (PoM HU 2005)

A Fantastic Woman
(Una mujer fantástica) by Sebastián Lelio
Chile / USA / Germany / Spain 2017, World premier co-produced by Janine Jackowski (Germany PoM 2009)

Out of competition

T2 Trainspotting by Danny Boyle
United Kingdom 2017, International premiere featuring Kelly MacDonald (UK Shooting Star 1999)

Panorama and Panorama Special

1945 by Ferenc Török
Hungary 2017, European premiere produced by Ivan Angelusz (PoM Hungary 2006)

Berlin Syndrome by Cate Shortland
Australia 2017, European premiere featuring Max Riemelt (German Shooting Star 2005)

From The Balcony (Fra balkongen) by Ole Giaever
Norway 2017, World premiere produced by Maria Ekerhovd (PoM Norway 2011)

Hostages by Rezo Gigineishvili
Russian Federation / Georgia / Poland 2017, World premiere produced by Vladimer Katcharava (PoM Georgia 2012)

Insyriated by Philippe Van Leeuw
Belgium / France / Lebanon 2017, World premiere co-produced by Tomas Leyers (PoM Belgium/Flanders 2006)

The King's Choice (Kongens Nei) by Erik Poppe
Norway / Sweden / Denmark / Ireland 2016, European premiere featuring Anders Baasmo Christiansen (Norway Shooting Star 2010, Jury Shooting Stars 2014) and Tuva Novotny (Shooting Star Sweden 2002)

Tiger Girl by Jakob Lass
Germany 2017, World premiere featuring Maria Dragus (Shooting Star Germany 2014)

When The Day Had No Name by Teona Mitevska
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia / Belgium / Slovenia 2017, World premiere featuring Labina Mitevska (UK Shooting Star 1998, Jury Shooting Stars 2009) produced by Labina Mitevska (PoM FYRoM 2013) and Danijel Hočevar (Jury Shooting Stars 2015), co-produced by Diana Elbaum (PoM Belgium/Wallonia 2001), writer: Elma Tataragić (EFP representative Bosnia & Herzegovina)

I Am Not Your Negro by Raoul Peck
France / USA / Belgium / Switzerland 2016 co-produced by Joëlle Bertossa (PoM Switzerland 2013)

Panorama in focus: Black History

Opening film of section
The Wound by John Trengove
South Africa / Germany / The Netherlands / France 2017, European premiere co-produced by Trent (NL PoM 2012)

Vazante by Daniela Thomas
Brazil / Portugal 2017, World premiere co-produced by Pandora da Cunha Telles (PoM Portugal 2004, Jury Shooting Stars 2017)

Centaur by Aktan Arym Kubat
Kyrgyzstan / France / Germany / The Netherlands 2017, World premier produced by Cedomir Kolar (Jury Shooting Stars 2011)

Generation Kplus

Little Harbour (Piata loď), by Iveta Grófová
Slovak Republic / Czech Republic 2017, World premiere produced by Jiri Konečný (PoM CZ 2008), co-produced by Ivan Angelusz (PoM HU 2006)

Owls & Mice (Uilenbal) by Simone van Dusseldorp
The Netherlands 2016, International premiere featuring Mimoun Oaïssa (Shooting Star NL 2006) produced by Leontine Petit (PoM NL 2006)

NATIVe - Indigenous Cinema

Kaisa's Enchanted Forest (Kuun metsän Kaisa) by Katja Gauriloff
Finland 2016 produced by Joonas Berghäll (PoM Finland 2011)

Forum 2017: Realistic and Surreal

Loving Pia (At Elske Pia) by Daniel Borgman
Denmar 2017, World premier produced by Katja Adomeit (PoM DK 2015)

Animals (Tiere) by Greg Zglinski
Switzerland / Austria / Poland 2017, World premiere featuring Birgit Minichmayr (Shooting Star Austria 2001) and Mona Petri (Shooting Star Switzerland 2003) produced by Lukasz Dzięcioł (PoM Poland 2011)

Berlinale Special Gala at the Friedrichstadt-Palast

Bye Bye Germany (Es war einmal in Deutschland...) by Sam Garbarski
Germany / Luxemburg / Belgium 2017, World premiere featuring Moritz Bleibtreu (Shooting Star Germany 1999) produced by Jani Thiltges (Jury Shooting Stars 2014)

The Queen of Spain (La Reina de Espana) by Fernando Trueba
Spain 2017, International premiere Service producer Judit Stalter (HU PoM 2012) Edited by Marta Velasco (Spain PoM 2014)

The Young Karl Marx (Le jeune Karl Marx by Raoul Peck
France / Germany / Belgium) 2017, World premiere featuring August Diehl (Shooting Star Germany 2000) co-produced by Patrick Quinet (PoM BE Wallonia 2003)

Berlinale Special Gala at the Zoo Palast

In Times of Fading Light (In Zeiten des abnehmenden Lichts) by Matti Geschonneck in collaboration with Wolfgang Kohlhaase
Germany 2017, World premiere featuring Alexander Fehling (Shooting Star Germany 2011)

°efp is supported by

European Film Promotion e.V.
Friedensallee 14-16
22765 Hamburg / Germany

fon +49 40- 398 403-0
fax +49 40- 390 6249


°efp President
Markéta Santrochová
Czech Film Center

°efp Managing Director 
Sonja Heinen

Panatom Corporate Communication

Andrea Dittler